A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World by C. A. Fletcher

ARC Book Review

Hey everyone! Last week, I received a sample chapters of A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World by C. A. Fletcher from NetGalley for free in exchange for a honest review. Not gonna lie, the main reason why I requested this book is because it immediately made me think of the movie, Alpha (2018). The only difference between this book and Alpha is the time setting. If this book is set at the end of the world, Alpha was set at the beginning of it. Also, check out those insanely gorgeous cover!

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World
by C. A. Fletcher

Genre: Dystopian, Fiction, Sci-fi, YA
Release Date: April 23, 2019
Publisher: Orbit Books
Pages: 336 pages
ISBN: 9780316449458

Summary:
When a beloved family dog is stolen, one teen sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts.

My name’s Griz. I’ve never been to school, I’ve never had friends, and in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football.

My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Then the thief came.

There may be no law left except what you make of it. But if you steal my dog, you can at least expect me to come after you.

Because if we aren’t loyal to the things we love, what’s the point?

Buy on *Amazon  Buy on *Book Depository

Review:

This book took such a different path within the dystopian / post-apocalyptic genre. If it usually full of actions, horrors, terrors and endless fears, this book has none of it. It rather soft and calming and it’s a very uncommon way to tell a story about the end of the world, I’d say. It felt unfamiliar but still intriguing. People no longer care asking about what and how it happened. It just did and those who survived it, just trying their best to survive and live. However, this impression came from the first few chapters only. There’s probably more intense scenes towards the middle and ending, who knows?

My favorite part is the beginning of Chapter 3: Who are you?. Turns out, our main character, Griz, with too much passion for reading, started to think to write too. And confused about who’s gonna read his writings anyway in this almost empty world, he created this imaginative reader, us. Yes, you, the one who’s reading this review right now.

I didn’t know who I would be writing for as everyone I know already knows my story because they’re a part of it. 

However, I feel the all-narrated book can be tricky. The target audience is too narrow and I guess I’m not one of them. It slightly bored me here and there sometimes. Things definitely happened, but it seems like nothing happened.

My Rating: ★★★

*This mark link with affiliate code. I may receive a small commission for purchases made through these links at no extra cost to you. This does not impact my reviews and opinions about the products.

     

4 thoughts on “A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World by C. A. Fletcher”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *